jump to navigation

What the #!$@ is going on with the Language Bar Settings in XP??? May 1, 2008

Posted by globalizer in Windows.
trackback

Am I the only one having a problem with the Language Bar Settings dialog in Windows XP ServicePack 2? Let me explain what my problem is:

The dialog refuses to actually save my choices. I want to always see the Language bar (and I want all the information I can get), so I make these selections:

XP language bar dialog

I save these changes, but when I re-open the dialog, this is what I get, every single time:

Why oh why does XP think that it knows better than I do what I actually want….? And why would it think that showing the language bar as transparent “when inactive” is a good thing? Why is that option even there? It’s kind of difficult to get to it to make it active if you don’t see it… (yes, yes, I know about the keyboard shortcut, and that is of course what I use to make it “active”, but why do I have to go through that extra step – since the first language on the list is rarely what I want?).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

